Voice for Adoption

VFA Annual Adoption Awards

ATTENTION: Voice for Adoption is seeking nominations for our 2016 annual adoption awards that focus attention on the crucial need for strong post-adoption services for adoptive families and overcoming interjurisdictional barriers to adoption of children from foster care. To submit a nomination for the Drenda Lakin Memorial Award for Continuing Service to Adoptive Families Award or the Adoptions Across Boundaries Award, please write a summary letter (no more than two pages please) explaining why your nominee should receive one of these awards and e-mail it to Schylar Baber at voiceforadoption@gmail.com. Click here to tell us about your nominee. We encourage case examples or data of achievements made by the nominee to be included in your recommendation letter. Nominations are due by COB Monday, September 12, 2016. 

VFA's Annual Adoption Awards

Voice for Adoption's annual awards focus attention on the crucial need for strong post-adoption support services for adoptive families and overcoming interjurisdictional barriers to adoption of children from foster care.

  • The Drenda Lakin Memorial Award for Continuing Service to Adoptive Families Award honors a state, nonprofit organization, or individual whose programs provide valuable adoptive family support after adoptions are finalized.
  • The Adoptions Across Boundaries Award is presented to a state or states, organization, or dedicated individual that have made diligent efforts in overcoming geographic barriers and have a proven track record of best practices in placing children across state or county lines.

These awards are presented at our annual Adoptive Family Portrait Project reception that takes place in November (National Adoption Month). 

Previous VFA award recipients include:

Adoption Across Boundaries Award

  • Carla Fults & Anita Light
  • State of Louisiana
  • West Virginia
  • Utah Division of Child & Family Service
  • Colorado Department of Human Services
  • South Dakota Department of Social Services
  • Deborah Goodman, Oklahoma Adoption Program Manager
  • Texas Department of Family and Protective Services  
  • Oregon Department of Human Services  
  • Dixie van de Flier Davis 

Drenda Lakin Memorial Award

  • Patricia Bennett
  • State of Missouri's Children's Division in partnership with Foster & Adoptive Care Coalition & Midwest Foster Care Adoption Association
  • A Better Chance for Our Children in partnership with The State of Delaware's Division of Family Services
  • Adoption Rhode Island
  • Donaldson Adoption Institute 
  • Adoption Network Cleveland 
  • Oregon Post Adoption Resource Center (ORPARC) 
  • Center for Adoption Support and Education (CASE)
  • Sylvia Franzmeir
  • Statewide Adoption Network of Pennsylvania
  • Adoptions Together
  • Dr. Joyce Maguire Pavao, Center for Family Connections
  • Lauretta “Pat” Sims, DePelchin Children’s Center
  • Family Focus Adoption Services
  • Concerned Persons for Adoption

We thank the above individuals, organizations and states for their hard work on behalf of waiting children and adoptive families.